Our Butterfly Unit

We are learning about butterflies!  Mrs. Thurman has ordered us our own caterpillars and we are anxiously awaiting their arrival!  We will be able to see three of the four stages below!


Check out beautiful photographs of the four stages by clicking this link:

Four Stages of Development

We will be raising painted lady butterflies!  This is what they will look like:


Painted Lady butterfly



We learned that all caterpillars do is eat, eat, eat... Much like the caterpillar in Eric Carle's book The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

The caterpillar will shed it's skin several times!  This is called molting.

Click the link below to see amazing video of the four stages of a monarch butterfly!  It even shows the caterpillar molting!

Monarch Butterfly

Is a caterpillar an insect?

We learned that an insect has six legs.  A caterpillar has more than six legs, but it is still an insect.  Why?  Because, a caterpillar isn't in it's adult state.  When it is an adult, it is a butterfly (or a moth).  How many legs does a butterfly have? 


Click the butterfly button to see our very own butterflies!